A Notion AI alternative for newsletter writers
Notion AI writes inside a Notion workspace, on the plan that includes it. HeyNews trains on the issues you have already sent, watches your sources, and leaves the send on your newsletter platform.
What it is
HeyNews is an AI newsletter writer for operators who run a real publication. It connects to beehiiv, Kit, Substack, Ghost, Mailchimp, or any newsletter with a public archive, imports your recent issues (up to 50 from a public archive) to build a Voice Profile, monitors your sources (RSS, blogs, social profiles, Reddit, saved articles), scores stories against your audience, and drafts your next issue. You review it and send from your existing platform.
Notion AI is the AI inside a Notion workspace. Free is $0 per member per month and Plus is $12 per member per month with monthly billing, and both plan cards include a trial of Notion AI. Business is $24 per member per month with monthly billing and its plan card lists Notion Agent, AI Meeting Notes, and Enterprise Search Beta. Enterprise is custom pricing and includes everything in Business, according to Notion's pricing page (checked October 29, 2026). The AI FAQ says Notion AI is available on Business and Enterprise, and that Free and Plus get a limited number of complimentary AI responses, according to Notion's AI FAQ (checked October 29, 2026).
Honest comparison
| What it does | Notion AI | HeyNews |
|---|---|---|
| Voice training | Inline editing can change the tone of selected text. Notion AI can also create an email draft, an outline, or a table, and you accept or discard the edit. The FAQ does not describe a voice profile built from sent newsletter issues. | Voice Profile from your past newsletter issues, automatic on connect |
| Newsletter platform integration | Connectors are Slack, Microsoft Teams, Google Drive, SharePoint and OneDrive, Jira (beta), GitHub, Linear, Gmail, Outlook, and Google Calendar. beehiiv, Kit, Substack, Ghost, and Mailchimp are not on that list. Third-party connectors need Business or Enterprise, except the personal Gmail connector, which is free on every plan. | beehiiv import and unsent drafts in beehiiv (paid beehiiv plan); Kit import (OAuth); archive import for Substack, Ghost, Mailchimp, Medium |
| Mailbox send | Custom Agents can read, draft, and send email from a connected Gmail, Notion Mail, or Outlook account, on any plan that includes Custom Agents. | No mailbox send. You review the draft and send it from your newsletter platform. |
| Story sourcing | Research mode Beta produces detailed reports from the Notion workspace, connected tools, and the web. The pricing page does not describe an ongoing RSS, social, or Reddit monitor. | RSS, blogs, social profiles, Reddit, browser extension, with relevance scoring |
| Performance learning | The AI FAQ does not describe reading newsletter open or click rates. | Uses beehiiv or Kit opens and clicks to rank stories and suggest subject lines |
| AI Meeting Notes | Transcribes the meeting and pulls out key points and action items. Requires Business or Enterprise, or an eligible mobile subscription that includes Notion AI. | No meeting notes. The output is the newsletter draft. |
| Images | On Business and Enterprise, beta image generation is limited to 10 generations or edits per user per 24 hours and 30 per 30 days. Workspace owners can turn it off. | Image search and insertion in the draft editor. No image generator. |
| Included AI credits | Business and Enterprise include 1,500 Standard credits and 500 Select credits per member each month, with no rollover. New workspaces use these amounts from October 19, 2026. Existing workspaces switch on November 2, 2026. Notion says the included amount can vary by plan and purchase arrangement. | Issues per month, AI revisions per draft, and publications. No model-credit balance. |
Notion AI details are according to Notion's AI FAQ, Notion's AI connectors overview, Notion's help article on Mail for Custom Agents, Notion's pricing page, Notion's AI Meeting Notes help article, and Notion's help article on AI credits (checked October 29, 2026).
When to choose Notion AI over HeyNews
- Your notes, tasks, and meeting notes already live in Notion, and the newsletter is one doc among many.
- You want a Custom Agent that can draft or send from a connected Gmail, Notion Mail, or Outlook mailbox.
- You want AI Meeting Notes or Enterprise Search in the same workspace as the docs the team already keeps.
- A Business seat is $24 per member per month with monthly billing, and that plan card lists Notion Agent, according to Notion's pricing page (checked October 29, 2026). If one seat covers the writing you do, that can cost less than a separate newsletter tool.
- You are still on the complimentary AI responses that come with Free or Plus, and you have not used them up.
When to choose HeyNews over Notion AI
- The newsletter is the main job, and you want the draft trained on issues you have already sent.
- You publish on beehiiv, Kit, Substack, Ghost, Mailchimp, or Medium, and you are tired of rewriting a pasted Notion draft because the voice drifted.
- Your stories come from feeds you follow, and you want them scored before they reach the draft.
- You want the next draft to use open and click data from beehiiv or Kit.
- You want one flat monthly plan for the publication. HeyNews Hobbyist is $39/mo. Notion AI past the trial sits on a per-member Business or Enterprise seat.
Pricing
| Plan | Notion AI | HeyNews |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 per member / month. Includes a trial of Notion AI. | No ongoing free plan. A free trial is available. |
| Plus | $12 per member / month billed monthly, or $10 per member / month billed yearly. Includes a trial of Notion AI, the same trial named on Free. | $39/mo Hobbyist (5 issues/mo, 1 publication) |
| Business | Business: $24 per member / month billed monthly, or $20 per member / month billed yearly. The plan card lists Notion Agent, AI Meeting Notes, and Enterprise Search Beta. | $39/mo Hobbyist (5 issues/mo, 1 publication). $99/mo Starter (15 issues/mo, 2 publications). These are publication plans, not per-member seats. |
| Enterprise | Custom pricing. Includes everything in Business, plus the admin and security features on the pricing page. | $499/mo Team (90 issues/mo, 10 publications, 100 AI revisions per draft) |
| Notion credits | Add-on for Business and Enterprise. Monthly credits are $10 per 1,000 and reset each month. Annual credits are $13 per 1,000 and expire when the subscription renews. Unused credits do not carry over. | No credit add-on. The plan price is the monthly list price for that plan. |
| AI trial on Free and Plus | A limited number of complimentary AI responses. The FAQ does not state how many. | 14 days OR 5 issues, payment method required |
| Business plan trial | 30 days for eligible teams on a professional domain who are not already on Business or Enterprise. If you entered payment information, the Business plan renews at the end unless you cancel. | 14 days OR 5 issues, payment method required |
Notion AI details are according to Notion's pricing page, Notion's help article on Notion credits, Notion's AI FAQ, and Notion's paid plan trials help article (checked October 29, 2026).
With monthly billing, seat prices are Free $0, Plus $12, Business $24 per member per month, and Enterprise custom. With yearly billing, Plus is $10 and Business $20 per member per month, according to Notion's pricing page (checked October 29, 2026). Yearly figures are monthly equivalents, billed annually. Business and Enterprise include 1,500 Standard credits and 500 Select credits per member each month. New workspaces use the published allowances from October 19, 2026, and existing workspaces from November 2, 2026, according to Notion's help article on AI credits (checked October 29, 2026). Extra monthly Notion credits are $10 per 1,000, and annual Notion credits are $13 per 1,000, according to Notion's help article on Notion credits (checked October 29, 2026). HeyNews figures are monthly list prices for the publication, not per seat. Annual HeyNews billing is 30% off. Hobbyist is $39/mo for 5 issues. Starter is $99/mo for 15. Pro is $299/mo for 45.
Use cases
The operator who drafts in a Notion doc
The outline already lives in Notion, and Notion AI can rewrite a section or change the tone. You still finish the issue in beehiiv, Kit, or Substack. HeyNews trains on the issues you sent, so the draft starts from that archive.
The team already paying for Business
Business is $24 per member per month with monthly billing and lists Notion Agent, meeting notes, and Enterprise Search. If the whole company lives in Notion, that seat is doing more than the newsletter. HeyNews is a separate subscription for the publication.
The writer who wants the mailbox handled
A Custom Agent can draft and send from Gmail, Notion Mail, or Outlook. That is a mailbox workflow. HeyNews does not send from a mailbox. It drafts the newsletter, and you send it from the platform that holds the list.
The weekly issue fed by sources
Research mode on the pricing page writes a report from the workspace, connected tools, and the web. HeyNews follows the RSS feeds, blogs, social profiles, and Reddit sources you name, scores the stories, and drafts the issue.
FAQ
Does HeyNews replace Notion?
No. Notion stays the workspace for docs, tasks, and meeting notes. HeyNews is the newsletter draft: voice from sent issues, sources, and a draft you review. Keep Notion if the rest of the work lives there.
How does voice training compare?
Notion's AI FAQ says inline editing can change the tone of selected text, and that Notion AI can create an email draft from the page. You accept or discard the change, according to Notion's AI FAQ (checked October 29, 2026). HeyNews builds a Voice Profile from your recent issues when you connect the platform. Up to 50 issues come from a public archive.
Can Notion AI send the newsletter to beehiiv, Kit, or Substack?
Notion's connectors overview lists Slack, Microsoft Teams, Google Drive, SharePoint and OneDrive, Jira (beta), GitHub, Linear, Gmail, Outlook, and Google Calendar. beehiiv, Kit, Substack, Ghost, and Mailchimp are not on that list, according to Notion's AI connectors overview (checked October 29, 2026). Custom Agents can draft and send from a connected Gmail, Notion Mail, or Outlook mailbox, according to Notion's help article on Mail for Custom Agents (checked October 29, 2026). HeyNews supports beehiiv import and unsent drafts in beehiiv (paid beehiiv plan); Kit import (OAuth); archive import for Substack, Ghost, Mailchimp, Medium. Draft delivery is beehiiv only, as unsent post drafts. That needs a paid beehiiv plan, approved draft access, and beehiiv chosen as the sending platform. Everywhere else, you copy the final draft in and send it yourself.
What does Notion AI cost?
Free is $0 per member per month and Plus is $12 with monthly billing, and both include a trial of Notion AI. Business is $24 per member per month with monthly billing. Enterprise is custom pricing. The pricing page also says Custom Agents are free to try, then $10 per 1,000 monthly Notion credits, and shows Plus at $10 and Business at $20 per member per month with yearly billing, according to Notion's pricing page (checked October 29, 2026). Business and Enterprise include 1,500 Standard credits and 500 Select credits per member each month from October 19, 2026 for new workspaces and from November 2, 2026 for existing ones, according to Notion's help article on AI credits (checked October 29, 2026). Bought credits are $10 per 1,000 monthly or $13 per 1,000 annual, according to Notion's help article on Notion credits (checked October 29, 2026).
Does Notion AI learn from opens and clicks?
Its AI FAQ does not describe a loop that reads newsletter open or click rates. If you connect beehiiv or Kit, HeyNews uses opens and clicks to rank stories and suggest subject lines.
What is included in the Notion AI trial?
Free and Plus get a limited number of complimentary AI responses. The FAQ does not state how many, according to Notion's AI FAQ (checked October 29, 2026). The trial usage article says everyone can try Notion AI, and that Business or Enterprise is required once the trial usage is gone. It does not state a count either, according to Notion's help article on AI trial usage (checked October 29, 2026). Moving from Free to Plus does not renew that usage, according to Notion's help article on changing plans (checked October 29, 2026). Eligible teams on a professional domain can try the Business plan for 30 days. If payment information was entered, it renews unless you cancel, according to Notion's paid plan trials help article (checked October 29, 2026).
Does either tool publish the newsletter for me?
HeyNews does not send or publish. You review the draft and send from your platform. Notion's Mail connection can send email from a connected mailbox when a Custom Agent has send permission. That is mailbox mail, not a newsletter platform send. You decide what leaves your list.
What is the HeyNews trial?
14 days or 5 generated issues, whichever comes first. Your card is charged on day 14 unless you cancel. You can cancel from Account settings.
Sources
Facts about Notion AI on this page come from pages Notion AI publishes itself. Each link shows the date it was last checked.
- Notion's pricing page, checked October 29, 2026
- Notion's help article on AI credits, checked October 29, 2026
- Notion's help article on Notion credits, checked October 29, 2026
- Notion's AI FAQ, checked October 29, 2026
- Notion's AI connectors overview, checked October 29, 2026
- Notion's help article on Mail for Custom Agents, checked October 29, 2026
- Notion's AI Meeting Notes help article, checked October 29, 2026
- Notion's paid plan trials help article, checked October 29, 2026
- Notion's help article on changing plans, checked October 29, 2026
- Notion's help article on AI trial usage, checked October 29, 2026
Draft from the issues you already sent.
HeyNews builds a Voice Profile from your archive and watches the sources you follow. You review the draft. Your newsletter platform still sends it.
Start free trialBuilt by Cagri and Eren. We use it for our own newsletter.
Switching to HeyNews? See the AI newsletter generator
Roundup
Related pages
Last updated .